Saint Rose of Lima School was established in 1921. It was the first Catholic School elementary school in this part of the county. The first graduating class in 1922 had only 13 members. The original two-story brick building had eight rooms and a basement. The auditorium/gym/social hall was added later in the 1920s. In 1996, the parishioners of Saint Rose of Lima Parish pledged funds for a school addition. The “Our Children, Our Future” campaign supported a three-level brick addition and added four classrooms and a library/media center to the original building. From the start, the school was staffed by the Sisters of the Third Order of St. Dominic of the Congregation of the Most Holy Rosary of Newburgh, New York.
Currently named the Dominican Sisters of Hope, the Sisters are still active in the school and parish. From its opening enrollment of 260 students in 1921, through the post World War II population explosion, to the current enrollment of 380, the students of St. Rose have been noted for their school spirit and achievement. Falcon spirit, leadership and community service remain the most enduring legacy of the proud history of our school.